Documentation Help Desk Shop Fan Site

Memorization

I recently brought home from the library the Complete Poems and Selected Letters of John Keats. I’ve of course read a few Keats poems, mainly the odes in some long ago lit class, but I’ve never really taken him to heart.

As soon as I opened to the first poem, sun beaming and coffee cup in hand, I felt the urge to read aloud (as most poetry is meant to be experienced, but so often I find myself reading and pondering in silence). I read To Leigh Hunt, Esq. aloud to myself and to my cats, and this brings me to the point I wanted to make: reading such rhythmic, classic poetry has inspired me to start memorizing poems.

Keats is known for being a Romantic, for his early death, and for his knowledge before said death that his words would be significant long after his time. As a modern writer I myself have often scoffed at poetry that features end-rhymes; I do use rhyme fairly often in my poetry, but I often hide it within lines, trying to avoid any scheme, form or “cutesyness”. (The only form I like is probably villanelle, and those only because when done right, they’re haunting.)

But Keats has changed my mind, for many reasons. Rhyme (and iambic pentameter) makes the act of memorization easier and the lines themselves have more natural flow. And if rhymes can limit the breadth of vocabulary… well, I’m also reading Stephen King’s On Writing, in which he writes,

The commonest [tool] of all, the bread of writing, is vocabulary. In this case, you can happily pack what you have without the slightest bit of guilt and inferiority. As the whore said to the bashful sailor, “It ain’t how much you’ve got, honey, it’s how you use it.” (114)

I found this article that really resonates with me on the topic of memorization, especially the anecdote at the end. Whatever we memorize, whatever we choose to memorize, can and will stay with us forever.